Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Kick back

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Kick back

Had a prop strike so sent engine in just to be sure everything was ok. They replaced one disc in clutch and I asked them to put in the soft start module while they had it. They also put in a new fly wheel that was supposed to improve starting. It kicks back more now then it ever did before. Plus it starts very hard. I thought this was going to make it easier on the engine. Any ideas out there? Should I just put it back the way it was?

Default Re: Kick back

Good morning,

I am new to LSA ... what is a soft start module?

Best regards,

Mike

Cupar, SK, Canada CLC4 Loon Creek Airfield

My new 2015 912uls engine with the factory soft start, spins fast and fires instantly. It has the HD starter.

You need a good battery to get the rpm for the modules to fire, my first thought is your battery may not be up to the task or a little weak.

I have heard of kickback problems from a weak battery.

I think if I remember right if kickback is a common regular, occurrence the sprag clutch gets damaged.

I would try a new battery as the first simple solution,
    I would also recheck the wiring setup for the soft start, If I remember right there are two wires from each module plug that join together and hook onto the starter solenoid .

Did you get this work done in Vernon?

Good luck Mic
    Kevin,

Kitfox Outback
    912 ULS
    Airmaster AP332CTFH-WWR70W
    Summit Aircraft Wheel Skis
    C-FOXW

Carb problems can also cause hard start problems.
    Paul Zimmermann
    LSRM-A
    Garland, Texas