Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rib lacing

Default Rib lacing

It's been a long day and my fingers are shredded.

How tight do the laces need to be over the rib? Most are so tight an amoeba couldn't crawl under if they tried. Others are snug but can be lifted slightly by the point of the needle, but the thick part of the needle will not pass under it without a some force. Is that enough?

I stuck the tip of the needle into the hole on the upper side fabric to see if I can lift the fabric off the rib and it doesnt want to come up, so I think I have it snug enough.

This is my first attempt at fabric and I don't want to proceed until I am certain I don't have any "do overs".

Steve

Default Re: Rib lacing

I'll take a stab at this, Steve. In my considered opinion they don't need to be terribly tight... just taut and not loose.
    John Evens
    Arvada, CO
    Kitfox SS7 N27JE
    EAA Lifetime
    Chap. 43 honorary Lifetime

I concure with John. Sounds like you’re doing fine Steve.

DesertFox4
    Admin.
    7 Super Sport
    912 ULS Tri-gear

Thanks,

It took 4 attempts to get the first ribs done. The knot tightened up before the lace was tight over the rib (about 1/4" of slack over the rib) on the first try. Didnt have enough lace material for the second try and buggered up the knot again trying to do a finishing know in the middle of the job. Third attempt the knot tightened up again before I could lock it down and then I couldnt do a finishing knot, so I had to pull it and start over.

Finally, I developed a system of tying the knot and snugging it up before the whole bundle of thread came together and locked up. Also figured out how to cinch it up a little. It seems to be the direction that I pull the lace from. Anyhow, every rib is a continuous run from rear to front.