Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Fibre Glass Repair

Default Fibre Glass Repair

Ok, I need to move the intake location on my cowl. I have no experience with fibre glass what so ever and was wondering if anyone could point me to a starter video and what supplies I would need for th8s type of repair. If it goes well I may make a plenum for the engine and if that also goes well I may even try fibre glass wing root cuffs....

I understand the theory of it, wet out the cloth and let cure, but there seems to be a lot of choice for materials.
    ------------------
    Josh Esser
    Flying SS7
    Rotax 914iS
    AirMaster Prop

Edmonton, AB, CWL3

Default Re: Fibre Glass Repair

I sent you an email Josh. Hope it helps.

Scott
    Scott Noble
    Kitfox SS7

youtube is your friend!
    There are several suppliers that have how to videos on youtube. Not a difficult process but there are some things that are good to know before you begin.
    Jeff
    KF 5
    340KF

Quote Originally Posted by jmodguy View Post
    youtube is your friend!
    There are several suppliers that have how to videos on youtube. Not a difficult process but there are some things that are good to know before you begin.
    That’s how I did my first fibreglass attempt. YouTube is my Encyclopedia, but with “moving pictures”....
    David
    SS7 Builder

Josh,
    I wanted to send a few tips I picked up after many years of working on lots of relatively small projects. Keep in mind that what I mention I use is only an example of what I have found that works well for me. I am sure others have techniques and materials that work equally well for them.