Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flaperon rivets missing

Default Flaperon rivets missing

Hello. I'm new to Kitfox ownership and have recently purchased a Kitfox vixen and have noticed that my left flaperon is missing 3 rivets on the trailing edge. Is this a normal maintenance occurrence? Should I just get the rivet gun out and put some new rivets in or should it be replaced?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: Flaperon rivets missing

a little scary

looks like its delaminated - consult the experts on that one

Brad,

First time I have ever heard of this happening....no...not a normal occurance - not at all.

A couple things on construction of the flaperons - 1) the flaperons are laminated at the factory - the spar tube, foam ribs and trailing edge of the flaperon are bonded together in a jig at the factory, I believe bonding is done with Hysol. 2) The builder is the one who puts the rivets in the trailing edge.

In any case - looks like in addition to losing some rivets - possibly the foam rib has delaminated as well as the trailing edge.