Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Cost of Five-Year Rubber Replacement

Default Cost of Five-Year Rubber Replacement

Hello All,

I'm new to the Kitfox world and I'm trying to learn as much as possible.

I'm looking at buying a '96 Model IV with 750 hours on a Rotax 912 (I don't know which model 912). Although I'm waiting on a copy of the logbooks, I don't believe the five-year items are current and I'll have to get them done myself, including the carburetor inspection.

In speaking with an A&P who is Rotax certified, he says that on a certified aircraft (not experimental) the five-year items and carburetor inspection can run as much as $6000 to $7000. I'm hoping he is incorrect for this Kitfox.

Can any of you shed some light on what the cost should be before I purchase the aircraft?

Thank you,

Will
    La Vernia, TX

Default Re: Cost of Five-Year Rubber Replacement

OMG are you serious... 6 to 7 thousand. wow! I think I can do mine for under 200 but that's me. I do all the work. wow, I can't believe that one
    steve
    slyfox
    model IV 1200-flying
    912uls
    IVO medium in-flight
    RV7A-flying
    IO-360
    constant speed prop

oh, one more thing, I would be learning real quick how to work on airplanes.
    steve
    slyfox
    model IV 1200-flying
    912uls
    IVO medium in-flight
    RV7A-flying
    IO-360
    constant speed prop

Yep, that's not a misprint. $6000 to $7000 for a certified aircraft with a Rotax. What's the difference? How can you do it for $200? Of course, that includes his labor rate of $65 per hour, but still...Something doesn't jive here.

Will

for one, the kitfox is NOT a certified aircraft. first I do all the work.