Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I found a new 1995 engine

Default I found a new 1995 engine

Any idea what a 1995ul is worth? no hours but completely unknown condition. Let's assume that I will take it to Elko to have the zipper big bore installed.

It probably needs the rockers, soft start, big starter, reduction drive clutch?

I am new to Rotax engines but I am guessing it's only worth $2000 or so given the risk that it might be junk.

Default Re: I found a new 1995 engine

Maybe I'm missing something here but, if this is a zero time engine it should still be somewhat preserved. If it was kept out of the weather your number doesn't seem to be very realistic but it would be a super deal.

Engines in this time period that have 500-1000 hrs. on them are still going for 5-7K or more.

The rotax doesn't have the same problems with rust and corrosion that the lyc and cont engines have.

Yes, please tell us a little more about this engine.

Birddog486 is correct about the value...
    Av8r3400
    Kitfox Model IV
    The Mangy Fox
    912UL 105hp Zipper
    YouTube Videos

accessories have huge impact on price. Oil tank, radiator, oil cooler and especially exhaust for Kitfox application are very pricey if buying at new prices. Serial # before 4.405.189 will not accept softstart.

Concur! I would just about bet if the owner wanted to advertise it he could get closer to $10K out of then $2K. I would think a person would suspect something 'shady' if it sold for $2K. Heck, you can strip an old engine for parts and get a LOT more than $2k for less than half the parts.
    If that seller is wanting to sell it for $2K and you don't want it, I bet you will get a gazillion private messages from guys wanting to know where it is. I sure am!!! Even if it isn't in running condition I would take it.