Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Kitfox IV prebuy ques?

Default Kitfox IV prebuy ques?

Hi guys,

I have an opportunity to buy an uncompleted IV. It has a zero time 912 Rotax but I do not yet know which it is. The airframe is done but it is not yet wired or plumbed for instruments/radios. It has been sitting for at least 5 years. I have not yet seen either the a/c or it's logs.

I have NO experience with amateur built a/c but I am a 35 yr A&P/IA.

1. What must I look for in any build log or records?

2. Are there stage inspections that must be documented in that log?

3. Can I pick up where the builder left off or does the build have to be re-inspected by whoever? Me (A&P/IA) or DAR?

4. Are there any more recent modifications that are REALLY necessary that might not have been included when this a/c was assembled?

5. Pre-buy tips?

I don't even know what I don't know so can sure use your collective expertise!

Many thanks,
    jon

Default Re: Kitfox IV prebuy ques?

My answers below are based on my experience, each builders seems to be a little different. Which airport do you fly out of?

Quote Originally Posted by jonstark View Post
    Hi guys,

I have an opportunity to buy an uncompleted IV. It has a zero time 912 Rotax but I do not yet know which it is. The airframe is done but it is not yet wired or plumbed for instruments/radios. It has been sitting for at least 5 years. I have not yet seen either the a/c or it's logs.

I have NO experience with amateur built a/c but I am a 35 yr A&P/IA.
    This should put you ahead of most

1. What must I look for in any build log or records?

2. Are there stage inspections that must be documented in that log?
    The only inspection I had was airworthiness though a pre-cover inspection was recommended after the fact