Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: blown up 912 ??

Talking blown up 912 ??

I just got a call from a customer that says he just bought a Rotax 912S engine from Lockwood and he bought it as a blown up engine $ 4000. and he knew it was blown up , two rods on the crankshaft are toast and the reason was climbout was too steep (PER LOCKWOOD) about 200 hrs TT , ITS BLOWN UP ! they tell the original owner that its not worth fixing , Well I have been working on Rotax engines now for 32 yrs and about ten of them with the 912 , and this one is beyond me , never heard of anything like this , The Rotax 912 doesn't have an oil pan its got a oil tank ,Its a dry sump engine , question , How friggen steep would you haft to climb to starve the engine for oil and for how long ?? I totally disagree with the diagnosis , Any thoughts ? ITS STILL BLOWN UP , Its not Lockwoods fault , they never worked on it , no one has , IT could have been caused by SUN SPOTS ?
    GASSITT
    Last edited by GASSITT@aol.com; 08-12-2012 at 10:19 AM. Reason: Some people can't understand so i will make it easier

Default Re: blown up 912 ??

Quote Originally Posted by GASSITT@aol.com View Post
    I just got a call from a customer that says he just bought a Rotax 912 engine from Lockwood and its blown up , two rods on the crankshaft are toast and the reason was climbout was too steep (PER LOCKWOOD) about 200 hrs , they say its not worth fixing , Well I have been working on Rotax engines now for 32 yrs and about ten of them with the 912 , and this one is beyond me , never heard of anything like this , The Rotax 912 doesn't have an oil pan its got a oil tank , question , How friggen steep would you haft to climb to starve the engine for oil and for how long ?? I totally disagree with the diagnosis , Any thoughts ?