Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Plans for metal rotisserie needed

Default Plans for metal rotisserie needed

Does anyone happen to have plans for metal wing and fuselage rotisseries that they would be willing to share?

I currently have a wooden wing rotisserie, but I'm seeking something more sleek, robust, and adjustable. While I have limited experience in metalwork (primarily arc and brazing), I'm confident I can manage. However, to minimize errors, I'm keen on utilizing tried and tested plans.

I have access to an arc welder, a chop saw, and various other tools. Creating a rotisserie seems like a perfect reason to invest in a small MIG welder.

TIA!

Steve

Default Re: Plans for metal rotisserie needed

Call The Kitfox factory and see if they will let you come and measure theirs.When I picked my kit up I took a look at the ones they use.I made mine similar to theirs.The Factory Tour You Tube John videoed during the Covid shutdown shows some good shots of them.

Not quite as elaborate as a metal one but I've done this on 5 Avids and Kitfoxes. When I wanted it to be up side down, I tied the tail up higher to the ceiling to a hook I had up there. JImChuk
    Attached Images Attached Images

I used a Harbor Freight engine stand on the firewall end and a bar bolted to the tail spring sitting in a pipe stand on the other.

If would have lifted the engine stand up a little, it would allow full 360º rotation, but with it on the floor you can get 300º to either side of the vatical tail, which was close enough.

Easy-Peasy.
    Av8r3400
    Kitfox Model IV
    The Mangy Fox
    912UL 105hp Zipper
    YouTube Videos

Jim,