Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Changing Airworthiness Certificate

Default Changing Airworthiness Certificate

If a Kitfox series 5-7 is for sale and has been certificated as "Light Sport" with a weight limit of 1320lbs. Can it be recertified by a new owner under factory weight limit of 1550lbs? I am a newbie of course and needing to be informed as much as possible in order to pull the trigger when the right plane comes up for sale. My thought process for needing all 1550lbs. is as follows: Dry weight of plane 850lbs. + 280 (me) + 150 (passenger) + 100 (Baggage) + 20 (Coolant/Oil) + 100 (~4hrs fuel) = 1500lbs. The above weight scenario would be a typical cross country trip with the wife. Thanks in advance! Your knowledge and advise is much appreciated.
    Last edited by SMangini; 04-24-2018 at 08:06 PM.

Default Re: Changing Airworthiness Certificate

Yes, you have to notify the FAA of the change, do phase 1 flight testing to verify the safety of the changes. You can't go the other way though. JImChuk

If you dig around on the forums here, you'll find a few discussions on this. JImChuk has summed it up pretty concisely, but I'll expand just a little bit.