Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Paper chart vs iPad for VFR

Default Paper chart vs iPad for VFR

The engine is out waiting to go in for overhaul, so I'm dreaming about flying again. I'm a private pilot but not current. Lots of things have changed over the years. I don't plan any great journeys, just local flights and $100 Burgers. What would be better, my old school paper charts or cough up some $$ for one of the new electronic charts services for my new iPad? From what I understand, the new electronic charts show current weather as well as flight planning? Would an instructor expect me to have paper or an iPad?

Default Re: Paper chart vs iPad for VFR

I fly IFR and VFR with Foreflight on the iPad and would not do it any other way. Awesome for flight planning. ALL the charts in the country for 70$ a year. Airport info.

Get an iPad with the 3G or 4G cellular chip. I think they call it wifi plus 4g. You do not have to activate cell service but only the ones with the cellular capability have built in GPS.

Weather on the iPad in the air requires a separate ads-b receiver. I have not played with this yet but some have and swear by it. Weather on the ground is shown on your sectional and is received via wifi or cell service data plan.

I am a huge fan.
    Maxwell Duke

Kitfox S6 IO-240 Built it (Flying since 2003)
    Maule M7-235C Sold it (liked it though)
    RV-10 IO-540 Bought it
    Zenith CH-750 Built with 7 friends (DAR Vic Syracuse)

Cupar, SK, Canada CLC4 Loon Creek Airfield

Hi,
    I went to the ipad with foreflight last fall, no more trying to unfold a map in the cockpit!
    Flight planning is easy and all info in one place.

You might need to do some navigation plotting on a paper map for flight tests and such, you will need to check with your flight training facility.