Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aviation Pet Peeve

Default Aviation Pet Peeve

Pet Peeve, def.-" a minor annoyance that an individual finds annoying to him or her, to a greater degree than others may find it."

I have one.

It's been many years since I was a fledgling pilot under the tutelage of an instructor. Instructors emphasize many things during flight training but none more adamantly than safety. Safety throughout the entire flight, from pre-planning to shutdown.

One safety procedure that I was not taught was to yell "Clear" or "Clear Prop" while instantly and simultaneously engaging the starter. I assumed, and was instructed that, giving a warning of a potential aircraft engine start was to allow some possible victim time to first identify a danger, then give them time to clear the danger zone. None of this is even remotely possible when the two acts occur at the same exact time or just 2 seconds apart. Yet this is what happens probably 8 out of 10 aircraft starts that I witness. It makes me curious if this has become a pilot's reflex action without connection anymore as to why this important warning is given. I doubt most were initially trained this way.

The very last time that a pilot can be 100% sure there is nothing about to be ground to pieces with his/her propeller is about 2 seconds before entering the cockpit. Putting on your seat belts, going through your pre-start checklist, getting ATIS, all take your attention away from your propeller arc and may have allowed some unsuspecting potential victim , human or beast, to move into the danger zone.