Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tire Choice

Question Tire Choice

I have a kit on order and am debating about the tires. Most of my flying will probably be on paved strips but my goal is to do a significant amount of flying from grass/dirt strips. As it stands I have ordered the 850 x 6 6 ply treaded tires with tubes. My decision is based on 1) I like the looks of the bigger tires 2) I think the larger tires will be better on grass/dirt and 3) I suspect the treaded tires will perform and wear better on paved strips. Since I have no experience with tail draggers and back country flying and only a few hundred hours flying light airplanes I am looking for advice/recommendations on my choice.

Default Re: Tire Choice

I just did a lot of research on this topic and am going to purchased the 22" 850x6 desser tires. From what I understand these are about as small as most the kit fox guys run who do any type of off airport flying. What I have noticed is that most people start with the 22" 850 (A few with the 21/800 desser) and they quickly go up to a 26"+ tire. The Desser 27.5 on the 8" wheel is very popular and will most likely be the set I go with.

I also plan on running the 850's tubeless which I have spoken to many people saying they have all done this with little issue even tho they say tubed type.

If you stick with the e series matco wheel they claim you can just buy new wheels ranging from 6", 8", 10", 12" and they bolt right on your axle and brake setup.

Below is what I plan on doing.

Matco 6" wheel e series with single caliper brakes
    1.25" matco axle
    tubeless kit
    22" 850 desser - tubeless

I also fly a model 4 1200

Full disclosure up front: I haven't actually *flown* on my tires yet.