Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Frame color

Default Frame color

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie here on TeamKitfox. I have just ordered a S7SS kit recently and I have noticed that the default color for the frame is white. But I'm wondering if it would be better to ask them to do it in different color if available from practical stand point in flight, i.e. the color reflecting off the windshield and becoming a distraction for example... What color would you recommend? I was thinking black.

Thanks in advance.

-Terry

Default Re: Frame color

I chose flat black powder coat. warning, its like a chalk board. if you rub something on it, like the fiberglass seat pan or the fiberglass over the instrument panel, it leave scuff marks. they come off but I think I will be tending to scuff marks for eternity. I flew Stick and Rudders airplane that has gloss black frame and it certainly didn't bother me, in fact, it was nice to use those two structures as points of reference to the horizon while in a turn. I suppose you should decide if black is going to match your overall color scheme.
    People do seem to comment on the flat black and that they like it.
    Eddie

Quote Originally Posted by efwd View Post
    I chose flat black powder coat. warning, its like a chalk board. if you rub something on it, like the fiberglass seat pan or the fiberglass over the instrument panel, it leave scuff marks. they come off but I think I will be tending to scuff marks for eternity. I flew Stick and Rudders airplane that has gloss black frame and it certainly didn't bother me, in fact, it was nice to use those two structures as points of reference to the horizon while in a turn. I suppose you should decide if black is going to match your overall color scheme.