Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Fuselage covering

Default Fuselage covering

Ok, I am covering starting the fuselage sides. The poly fiber manual says to coat aluminum parts with 3:1 poly brush/reducer. So I did that around the door joggles. Now do you then use Poly tak to glue the fabric to the door joggles with the base coat of poly brush OR use poly brush through the fabric to attach them to the joggles? Will using poly tak against the base coat of poly brush be a strong enough bond for the shrinking? Or should I remove the base poly brush coat and attach the side fabric to the door joggles using just Poly tak? This is my first time covering so sometimes the poly manual doesn't make sense.

Default Re: Fuselage covering

Don’t know about the poly system but I think you should start with covering the bottom first...
    Jeff
    KF 5
    340KF

I don't have time right now to look in my manual, but if you are reading it right, then follow what it says. I do know that large surfaces get a couple of layers of polybrush applied before you cover them. Then when you apply the poly brush it will go through the fabric and bond with that underlayer of polybrush. JImChuk

Yeah I get that large surfaces would get a couple coats of poly brush, such as the top of the fuel tank. But will poly tak to poly brush be as strong as tak to aluminum?

The belly is already covered Jmod

I quickly glanced through my manual, and don't see the part you are referring to. What page or such??? JImChuk