Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Folding wings

Default Folding wings

when folding the wings on a ss7 do you need to drain the gas tanks. Also does anyone on the forum have any experience with the zenith stohl 750 as far as how it compares with the ss7, I keep going back and fourth on both planes and will be looking them both over at the big flyin next month but any opinions on this subject would be helpful. Also I am wondering about the difference between a tail dragger and tricycle gear as far as back county flying and landing on rough fields. I don't have my license yet so I have no flying experience so again all opinions will be help full. Thanks guys

Default Re: Folding wings

Folding the wings you have to have the tanks below half. As for the Zenith, my buddy has one and he takes it some pretty hairy places. He loves the thing but it is much slower than a Kitfox. I would rather cruise 35mph fast in the kitfox and land 200' longer.

Building a kitfox and seeing the Zenith I would say the Kitfox is a nicer built machine. Just my opinion

I built and own a Kitfox Series 6 with a Continental IO240 and in a group built and own a 750 STOL with a Continental O200. Either can be built with similar skill level. But you will learn different skills. Basically if you have any aptitude for building and can follow instructions you can build either.

The 750 will get off the ground in a shorter distance. Great fun to take off at high angle of attack.

Kitfox will outclimb and easily outrun our Zenith. Overall I prefer flying the Fox. It just flies better. Maybe our Zenith could perform better with a different prop although our prop is our second and was recommended by Sensenich. IMHO the Kitfox looks better too.