Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Float performance on SS7

Default Float performance on SS7

Thinking of building an SS7, which would be float-capable. I'm looking for real-world feedback on the performance of Kitfoxes on floats, compared to some other airplanes (like a cub, for example). I know it is difficult to compare across airframes and powerplants and various configurations, but I'm interested in the experience out there and what folks have to say. Also, any comments on the differences in build experience (time, difficulty, etc.) for a plane with floats vs. without. Buy floats vs. build floats? I have looked through the archives somewhat but haven't found all that I'm looking for.

Thanks,
    Greg

P.S. I have already built an RV9, so not a total newbie to building.

Default Re: Float performance on SS7

Where's Paul (Av8rPS) when we need him? He will have all the answers, being our resident Kitfox float expert.
    Av8r3400
    Kitfox Model IV
    The Mangy Fox
    912UL 105hp Zipper
    YouTube Videos

Greg,

A Kitfox Super Sport will make a great float plane. It's ability to carry more than its own empty weight (if flown experimental at 1550 lbs) is a huge advantage with any aircraft when you start hanging a set of floats under it, especially if they are amphibs. But in addition to the great load carrying ability, the Kitfox design is like it was made for float flying. The wing lifts very well at slow speeds, but yet will fly fast when you want to get somewhere. That is not a common trait in floatplanes, unless of course you have a 300+ hp engine, a constant speed prop, and you have 200+ grand laying around to buy one of the known "premium" floatplanes.