Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Power tools

Default Power tools

I ordered the prefab brackets. Will I need or find a band saw useful during construction?

How are you guys cutting out the notch in the rear spar (I think it is to allow the wing to fold back) The photos I have seen all look very nice.

What power tools besides a cordless drill might I want?

Default Re: Power tools

The notch is cut out by the factory.

You don’t need a bandsaw. Everyone has preferences for cutting the fibre glass and acrylic etc. I use an angle grinder. The only thing I used my band saw for was cutting the flapperon rigging pieces.

I use a lot of air tools. I have a 90 degree drill that I don’t know how I would have built the plane without as it lets me get into tights spots. A dremel or similar is almost a must too. A bench top drill press would be nice too but not 100% required. It makes more even holes than hand drilling for sure
    ------------------
    Josh Esser
    Flying SS7
    Rotax 914iS
    AirMaster Prop

Edmonton, AB, CWL3

Can you post a picture of the 90 degree drill so I can see what size your drill is.

Thanks,

Steve

Hi Steve,

My bandsaw is one of the most useful (& used) tools in my home shop. I did use it a lot on the Kitfox project, but like Josh said, it probably isn’t a mandatory “must have” tool for most builders. Mine is “homebuilt” by me, and I’ve had it for 30+ years.

I’ve got a couple of angle drills. They can be pretty pricey but there are many options. Check out the Aircraft Spruce and ATS catalogs. You’d probably do well to get one with a small head that uses drill bits with a 1/4-28 thread. They are used with a standard drill motor.
    John Evens
    Arvada, CO
    Kitfox SS7 N27JE
    EAA Lifetime
    Chap. 43 honorary Lifetime