Supporting vendors:
 
Your ad here?
 
Old 06-05-2015, 09:14 AM   #1
skipdvm
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 6
Default Adding Mode C

what is involved with adding a mode c to a IV with a 583 Blue Head. I understand the engine driven system/generator may not be able to handle it.

And then there is Nexgen and 2020 and ADS-B "out" mode S WAAS (automatic dependent surveillance broadcast system)

for now I just want to get a mode c going and see what happens in 4 years.
BTW I know a lot about Nexgen as I just finished my CFI re-currency training if anybody wants the skinny.
skipdvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 10:28 PM   #2
rv9ralph
Senior Member
 
rv9ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Greenleaf, ID (soon)
Posts: 238
Default Re: Adding Mode C

You will need to determine the power output of your generator. Then, calculate the current draw of all components. i.e. lights, strobes, radio, etc. You can get Mode C Transponders the draw less than one amp (trig). You will also need a transponder for altitude reporting. It will also draw possibly less than an amp depending on model. I would also make sure that any transponder you get will be compatible with any future ADS-B upgrade.

If the electrical draw of your various components is greater that the output of your generator, then the battery will not charge. If you have electronic ignition, the you will also to include that in the total current draw.

Ralph
rv9ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 03:54 AM   #3
RobS
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Durham, ME
Posts: 70
Default Re: Adding Mode C

Ameri-King's AK350 powered at 14 volts only draws 0.20 amps once warmed up and 0.60 amps for 1 minute when first turned on.
__________________
RobS
RobS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 05:50 AM   #4
skipdvm
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 6
Default Re: Adding Mode C

any advice on low amp transponders that are available? Electronic ignition? ---Isn't that handled by mags? The starter doesn't matter as no other electronics will be on during starting? Any companies you would recommend selling low power requirement transponders?
skipdvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 03:23 PM   #5
RobS
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Durham, ME
Posts: 70
Default Re: Adding Mode C

As rv9ralph said, Trig makes a transponder that draws less than 0.50 amps in active mode.
__________________
RobS
RobS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 08:31 PM   #6
RobS
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Durham, ME
Posts: 70
Default Re: Adding Mode C

Bendix King KT76A at 14 volts draws 1.8 amps max and 1.1 amps standby.
__________________
RobS
RobS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.