Supporting vendors:
 
Your ad here?
 
Old 03-24-2011, 07:37 PM   #1
oldfox
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mi
Posts: 50
Default Model 1 Transponder or Not

Hey guys do you have to have a transponder if you are flying a model 1 with just a starter??? PS just under class B air space ??
oldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 06:06 AM   #2
SkySteve
Senior Member
 
SkySteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville, UT
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

The requirement for a transponder is based on airspace, not which aircraft you are flying or what kind of starter you have. Any aircraft flying inside the veil of class Bravo airspace (30 mile ring around class B airport) is required to have a transponder with at least mode C. If you are going to fly into class B airspace you must first contact a controller and get permission to do so. They will also give you a transponder code to squawk.
__________________
Steve Wilson
Huntsville, UT
Kitfox 85DD
912A / 3 Blade Taper Tip Warp Drive
Convertible Nosewheel & Tailwheel
SkySteve's SPOT Page
SkySteve's You Tube Videos
SkySteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 06:19 AM   #3
t j
Senior Member
 
t j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Posts: 781
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

My opinion is yes if the plane was originally manufactured with an engine driven electrical system.
__________________
Tom Jones
Classic 4 builder
t j is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 06:21 AM   #4
oldfox
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mi
Posts: 50
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

Ok thanks. I was told by other guy on my field that if you did not have electric system on the plane your were not required to have it . He has a old Champ with no transponder in it ???
oldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 07:12 AM   #5
Dorsal
Senior Member
 
Dorsal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, MA
Posts: 1,490
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

I believe the spirit of the rule was to allow planes without an alternator or battery to operate without a transponder, all else should have one. Or stated another way all planes should have a transponder unless you do not have an electrical system to support it.
__________________
Dorsal ~~^~~
Series 7 - Tri-Gear
912 ULS Warp Drive

Last edited by Dorsal; 03-25-2011 at 07:14 AM.
Dorsal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 07:19 AM   #6
t j
Senior Member
 
t j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Posts: 781
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

Oldfox, I should clarify my post above. A transponder would be required in a plane that was originaly manufactured with an engine driven electrical system to enter airspace that requires a transponder.

You mentioned that you were under class B airspace. If that means beneath the floor of that class B air space then you don't need the transponder.
__________________
Tom Jones
Classic 4 builder
t j is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 08:28 AM   #7
oldfox
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mi
Posts: 50
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

Thanks Tom that helps I may still try to add to the plane
oldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 05:38 AM   #8
ken nougaret
Senior Member
 
ken nougaret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: zephyrhills,fl
Posts: 593
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

i used to fly a champ with no electrical. i've flown into class d airports with no problem, and under the tampa mode c veil. as far as certified aircraft go, if it was not originally certificated with a transponder, it's not required as long as your not going into class b or looking for flight following.
ken
ken nougaret is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:18 AM   #9
jrthomas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsboro,NC
Posts: 232
Default Re: Model 1 Transponder or Not

In my area I'll probably never need to fly through any airspace where I would need a transponder. There is no "B" airspace in my area and I can fly over or under the "C" airspace if I absolutely have to go through it. Oldfox has a different circumstance since his home field lies inside "B" airspace. I may see a need for one sometime in the future but for now I can't justify the expense for something I may never really need. I read recently that 75% of pilots never fly into controlled airspace. It all comes down to this. If you're going into "B" or "C" you need a transponder. If not, you don't. James Thomas
jrthomas is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.