Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: build time for a SS7

Default build time for a SS7

Hi guys, I have seen some info on here about guys going over 2000 hours to build there planes and I was just wondering is the factory being deceptive in there 1000 hours to build or can a well versed fabricator with a well equipped shop do it in a 1000 hours. I am very interested in building a 7 but if it takes over 2000 it might force me to reconsider. Thanks for your help. Big Jim

Default Re: build time for a SS7

My SS7 took about 2300 hours, but I am a first time builder with a shop kind of crowded and not super well equipped; also by nature I am slow and careful. I did NOT get the quick build wings or the prefab kit. I estimate the QB wings would save about 500 hours.
    Jim Ott
    Portland, OR
    Kitfox SS7 flying
    Rotax 912ULS

Go Read the Build Post from Oz build SS7, Ross is an Australian Builder. His post will give you a very good idea of what is involved.

http://www.teamkitfox.com/Forums/showthread.php?t=5029
    Paul Zimmermann
    LSRM-A
    Garland, Texas

Jim, I haven't finished my 7SS yet but my model 4 took around 1,200 hours to complete but I had many mods from stock that added time to the build. I did it in 14 months of pretty steady effort. I don't think the model 7 SS would be much more if you kept your Kitfox simple. Lots of high timers are building the fanciest versions with all glass panels, auto pilots and the like.
    Advertising a universal build time for all situations is tricky. Just know that it varies for all kit manufacturers as they control nothing about your shop, it's equipment set up and your skill level. I think a needle, ball and airspeed model 7SS with a know engine like the Rotax is doable.