Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flaps

Default Flaps

Wondered if anyone can help with advice on using flaps for take off and landings ? I'm new to the Kitfox world and am Training in a MK 3 with a 912 in England. I have a good instructor but we hav'nt experimented with flaps yet for landing or take off. Any advice would be really appreciated.
    Many thanks, Andy

Default Re: Flaps

Andy, I had a model 3 with 912 Rotax way back when. I used about half flaps for most takeoffs. It got me into the a little air quicker, shortened the take off distance.

Hardly ever used them for landing.

DesertFox4
    Admin.
    7 Super Sport
    912 ULS Tri-gear

I have model III wings on my bird and the 912 80hp Rotax. Like DF4, I use half flaps when doing a normal take off. If I want to get off fast I go half flaps on the take off role and as soon as I'm at about 30-32 mph I pull full flaps and I'm off the ground. Then quickly push the nose down to stay in ground effect and slowly bleed off all flaps and start my climb. I find this works very effectively.

When doing my normal landing (I most always try to hit a predetermined spot and land as short as possible), I come over the fence stabilized at no more than 45 mph with full flaps, slow to no more than 37-40 mph, touch down and immediately dump all flaps.
    Last edited by SkySteve; 03-22-2014 at 05:17 AM.
    Steve Wilson
    Huntsville, UT
    Kitfox 85DD
    912A / 3 Blade Taper Tip Warp Drive
    Convertible Nosewheel & Tailwheel
    SkySteve's SPOT Page
    SkySteve's You Tube Videos

Mine is a model 4 and like the others have said some flaps on take off get it off the ground quicker.

For a three point full stall landing I do not use any flaps as you will find flaps pitch the nose down on the kitfox.