Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tow Bar & Introduction

Default Tow Bar & Introduction

Hello!

Two reasons for post, one to introduce myself, and two to seek some advice and expertise.

I am a military pilot stationed up north, and have been in and around aviation since I was a boy. My grandfather and father in law are both owners/builders and by exposure, have pushed me to purchase my first aircraft!

I am a helicopter pilot by trade, but have an extensive background in fixed wing as well. A couple of years ago, after a long deployment, and after flying had become a "job" to me, my father in law pushed me to take his newly purchased Kitfox around the patch. I was hesitant at first, as there was no dual instruction (single seat) and we pulled the damn thing to the local field with his hatch back. The rest is history. I was in love. It really brought something back into the flying equation that had been missing after a couple thousand hours of military aviation.

Which brings me to my next subject. I am currently looking to purchase an S7, and have a couple of transportation/dimension questions. I didn't realize it back then, but part of the charm the Kitfox brings to the table is the portability.

I live three miles from the local grass strip. It's all paved, low traffic, and the local police allow any manner of vehicle on the road (from ATVs to farm machinery). I would like to tow the Kitfox to the field (daylight only) and by pulling it with my truck. I want to fabricate something along the line of the pictured tow apparatus, but obviously customize it to my application.

So....I know there is a ton of wisdom, and experience on this board (I've been lurking for a year) and would like to hear your thoughts.

1) Daylight only
    2) Low traffic
    3) 45 and below