Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Factory tour and demo flight report

Default Factory tour and demo flight report

I’m an RV-8 builder/pilot from Wisconsin, and have been looking into different options for a next project. I was in Boise ID for work recently and had a chance to visit Kitfox Aircraft in Homedale, and thought I’d offer a report on my visit for those not already familiar.

Kitfox Aircraft is located about 40 miles west of Boise on the western Snake River Plain, an agricultural oasis bounded by picturesque mountains to the northeast and desert to the southwest. Arriving at Homedale airport I wasn’t sure at first if I was in the right place; it’s a small, sleepy little strip tucked in on the south bank of the river. This modest setting perhaps helps keep costs down. As best I can tell their prices compare quite favorably to the competition (for example Rans and Just), although direct comparison is a bit tricky due to the ways in which each manufacture does their pricing.

John McBean was remarkably generous with his time and gave me complete a tour of the the facilities, while patiently answering many questions. One of my main questions concerned engine choice. Although Kitfox has experimented with a number of different engines, I quickly learned that John regards a Rotax as far and away the best choice.