Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pilot Sunglasses

Default Pilot Sunglasses

I'm a new pilot and have heard that polarized sunglasses are not good for pilots. Why is that? I have tried both and seem to prefer the polarized type-better cloud definition. What am I missing?

Jim

Default Re: Pilot Sunglasses

Many LCD displays on your instrument panel (radios, GPS units, etc.) will be difficult to see due to the polarized sunglasses. Also, some windshields will display all sorts of strange stress patterns that are otherwise invisible if wearing non-polarized glasses.

That said, try out a pair of polarized glasses in the plane you normally fly and see if there are any issues.

-- Paul S

one of the things that ive read is that the colors arent correct using polarized glasses in a glass cockpit for the efis/eicas . not a problem for me since the only glass i have in my cockpit is that on my round instruments . i tried polarized glasses last summer and didnt care too much for them . seems to be a lot more variation in colors . like flying along looking down at the forrest , with regular glasses there is just a green forrest , with polarized glasses there is a bunch of differents shades of green forrest . if a guy is used to that then it shouldnt be a problem . me , i like the regular old sun glasses
    chuck
    kitfox IV 1050
    912ul warpdrive
    flying B , yelm, wa

paul , the stress stuff is pretty strange . i dont have any on the windshield but around all the pop rivits in the side windows . thought maybe i had some kind of xray glasses on the first time i used them in the plane .
    chuck
    kitfox IV 1050
    912ul warpdrive
    flying B , yelm, wa