Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Travel in a Kitfox

Default Travel in a Kitfox

Can anyone tell me if I am being realistic with my plans. I am not a pilot yet, but plan on getting my license this fall. I want to buy a Kitfox and put floats on it, for use mainly short trips to local lakes etc. But I also hope to fly across country from time to time. from say, Seattle to Miami Florida, given reasonable weather conditions , what would be a reasonable timeframe for a flight plan? Some people I talk to say flying across country in a 110 mph plane is unrealistic. Any experienced opinions would be appreciated!

Thank You,
    Bandit

Default Re: Travel in a Kitfox

I am asking if it is realistic, some people say it is not! I personally think it is but because I have no experience, I want advice from people like yourself that are or have done this sort of travel! I know it is possible as is driving around North America, although that would be something most people would only want to do once! (opinions will vary of course). It seems like traveling in a Kitfox and seeing North America would be alot of fun but I am not retired and can only tale 5 weeks total per year, in which I would like to do 2-3 long trips per year!

Thanks
    Bandit

One of the forum members did Denver to Alaska, with a really nice writeup on everything: http://www.teamkitfox.com/Forums/showthread.php?t=1711

I would say with the proper planning, it would be quite fun and definitely realistic ^_^