Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here with observations and questions

Default Newbie here with observations and questions

Hello all
    I am a 36yrd old paramotor pilot with dreams of one day building and flying my own little plane. For now, am researching and soaking in as much as i can to narrow down the daydreaming possibilities.

My personal background:

• Originally from India, very comfortable in the US with an american wife

• No Sport pilot license yet, but definitely getting started in a year or s0

• Budget of upto $35k on my own and more if i can convince a friend to join me in the build+ownership process
    • Intent to build/own is about 2-3 years from now

• Wife does not fly, but could be coaxed into a cockpit with demonstration of expertise. 2 seater is a must. side-by-side is necessary.
    • I live in San Francisco (anyone else around here?), and therefore no place to work on a plane, let alone park one ;-). more on that later.

• No mechanical knowledge amounting to much. I can change oil and filters on my motorcycles, but have recently started to build stuff around and am really enjoying the process. + wife is very handy

Putting aside the minor technicalities listed above , I was heavily interested in the Sonex for a while- and was invited up to a demo flight by a kindly owner. It was terrific and i loved it all the qualities its designers espouse - honesty with materials, build times, well engineered with simplicity and reliability the prime drivers, and a very sensible price point.

However, after a few days of research, i am refining my mission: