Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm new & need High Alt per. WHat config ?

Default I'm new & need High Alt per. WHat config ?

Hello all!
    I'm new to Kitfoxes. I usually fly Cessna 150-152's.
    I will be relocating to a new home where the elevation is 8000' .
    I have plenty of land and would like a fun craft for summer and winter flying.
    I only need 2 seats but as you can surmise....the summer temps can hit 90.
    Lets say I want to operate in a condition that the field D/A is 10,000'.
    Is there a Kitfox model and powerplant configuration that can cut it?

I basically think the widest wingspan is the best advantage. I would like to get an honest 100kts in cruise.

Oh...I desire short field performance as well.

Is this too much to ask in the Kitfox?

Thanks everybody. Let's busta cloud!

Marty

Default Re: I'm new & need High Alt per. WHat config ?

The model 5, 6, 7 and SS are all rated at 1550lbs gross and when fitted with a Rotax 914 you could handle the 10K density altitude and have margin to spare.

The 914 will give you lots of performance in take off and cruise, but the powerplant isn't cheap (north side of $30k if you buy a new one). It is also a tad complex when compared to the Rotax 912.

But if you play with rotary wing stuff you already know about complex.