Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Winter Engine Covers...

Default Winter Engine Covers...

Looking for winter operations experience.
    I have a round cowl Kitfox IV with a 912s in it. Does anyone have a winter engine cover that they are happy with for winter ops? If so who made it and could I get a brief description or picture please. I am fairly picky about engine covers, having had a lot of experience with the good and the bad in Alaska. There is nothing owrse than an engine cover that is poorly designed.

Now I am not experienced at all with how a 912 airplane works in winter. Should we have a quick slip cover that goes over the radiator?

It is currently 0 degrees F here and I want to be able to sit out for about 3 hours without issue. I have seen some 912 installations that will start at something below 10, but mine gets really cranky about starting below 28 without preheating.

The snow is perfect and the temps are cold. I need to be out playing.

After all of that, if someone has a cover sitting in their hangar that came with their airplane, that they never plan to use, I'd buy it.

Thanks,
    Kelly

Default Re: Winter Engine Covers...

I made this cover last year. Complete with a carrying bag. I have contemplated making and selling them...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Av8r3400
    Kitfox Model IV
    The Mangy Fox
    912UL 105hp Zipper
    YouTube Videos

That looks nice Larry!
    Dan B
    Mesa, AZ