Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Prop strike on full throttle? or landings?

Default Prop strike on full throttle? or landings?

I'm new to tailwheel. So a few newbie questions:

If I go to full throttle for either a static runup or for takeoff
    and hold the brakes, is there ANY chance it can pull it clean over
    and have a propstrike?

Second, if I'm coming in on a wheel landing and stomp on the
    brakes, can it nose over for a prop strike then? Seems like it would...

What about a three point? Can stoming on the brakes tip it
    over then?

Thanks for helping me overcome my worries
    ~Wild....

Default Re: Prop strike on full throttle? or landings?

whenever the engine is running always pull back on the stick. That way if you put any throttle to it you won't have to worry. And yes the tail will come right up if you go full throttle, so have the stick pulled all the way back and you won't have to worry.

Yes, you can go nose over if you hit the brakes. Just don't use them. I've got over three years on my matco brakes and about 15000 you read it right 15000 3 zero's of touch and goes on my brakes and they still look great. I just don't use them except to start and to turn sometimes.

Again, if the stick is all the way back you won't flip it. Just don't stomp on the brakes. Of course if you are trying to land and stop within 200ft. than yes you use the brakes, but if the stick is all the way back, no worry.
    steve
    slyfox
    model IV 1200-flying
    912uls
    IVO medium in-flight
    RV7A-flying
    IO-360
    constant speed prop

... but will the tail lift at full throttle with me solid on the brakes under just the prop thrust?