Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 15 Year Old Kitfox IV Owner

Talking 15 Year Old Kitfox IV Owner

Hello,
    My name is Tucker and I will be turning 15 in the beginning of April. Although I am new to this forum, aviation has always been in my blood. I have been flying model planes for almost four years now and it is one of my many passions. I started out with one RC plane and now I have over twenty. They range from a micro plane that I can fly in my house, to a quarter scale Extra 300 that is more aerobatic than the real thing. I fly my model planes almost every weekend and I enjoy every minute of it.
    I guess I can say that I got my love of flight from my grandpa. He flew a Cub and a Stearman and also crewed on a B-17 when he was younger, but no longer flies. Over a year ago, he found a good deal on a Kitfox IV (not yet built) and bought it for me. Since then, we have not touched it.
    About two months ago, I started ground school at a local airport. I enjoyed every minute of the class and learned a lot. I ended up getting the highest score on the practice test in my entire class. Now, I am starting flight lessons. I went for my first real lesson about two weeks ago in a Cessna 152. The instructor said that I seemed very comfortable in the plane and it will not take long for me to progress through the training. I plan on soloing right when I turn 16, so we are doing one lesson a month and then we will do many more in the month before I turn 16.