Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Model 4 verse the 7 ss

Default Model 4 verse the 7 ss

I was wondering how the model 4 compares to the 7ss. I am new to kitfox and have flown the 7ss with the rotax 912 100hp engine. Wondering what you guys would prefer to buy and also the different flight characteristics.

Default Re: Model 4 verse the 7 ss

I have a model IV. (IV-1200 to be exact.) My previous plane was a model IV. (IV-1050) I have over 1000 hours in type. I have flown the models V-VIISS on a couple of occasions, which are all very similar, varying with minor details.

IMO - The V through the current SS are a much more "mature" and "refined" airplane compared to the earlier models. My airplanes, though very well built, do not have the designed in finish of the later model Kits. Things like the way the doors are designed to seal, the way the cowlings are made, the improved panel design all show the improvements made over my plane.

The flying qualities of the newer planes are more stable, in a word, heavier. That's not to say they are boring like a Cessna, S7 Rans or a Crylander, (which I all have flown) far from it. They are still very sporty handling, but heavier than my IV is.

A newer Kitfox is like a modern sports roadster. My IV is like a MG-A. Does that make sense?
    Av8r3400
    Kitfox Model IV
    The Mangy Fox
    912UL 105hp Zipper
    YouTube Videos

That makes sense thanks!

I have always thought of the difference sort of like a dirt bike vs. A Honda Gold wing.
    Lowell Fitt
    Goodyear, AZ

My You Tube Channel

Thinking of my response, I do wish the IV-1200 was still available as a kit. After losing my first IV, it was a long and hard search to find an uncompleted IV to get me going again. Yes, I used to own a dirt bike - Montessa.
    Lowell Fitt
    Goodyear, AZ